Each year, high school seniors have the opportunity to receive scholarships to continue their education. The co-op will award one $1,000 High School Scholarship to one eligible graduating senior from each of the following high schools in our service territory: Alma, Arcadia, Blair-Taylor, Cochrane-Fountain City,  Durand, Eleva-Strum Central, Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau, Gilmanton, Holmen, Independence, Mondovi, Onalaska, Osseo-Fairchild, and Whitehall. In addition, the co-op awards one $1,000 at-large scholarship for an eligible student who reside on our lines, but attends a school not listed above. One recipient per school will be chosen in a random drawing at Riverland Energy Cooperative’s Annual Meeting on Saturday, April 16, 2016.

*Please read the guidelines for eligiblity requirements.

Guidelines - pdf

Deadline for Applications: April 8, 2016

Completed entries must be returned to any of our Riverland Energy Cooperative offices by 4:00 p.m. or postmarked by April 8, 2016. Forms can also be e-mailed to Beth Alesch at

Annual Meeting: April 16, 2016 - MUST BE PRESENTTO WIN SCHOLARSHIP


Non-traditional Scholarships

Three $750 non-traditional scholarships are awarded to non-traditional students at schools of higher learning. This will be awarded to someone returning to university or technical college after spending a minimum of 3 years in the work place or raising a family. To be eligible, you or your spouse must be a member in “good standing” and a bona fide resident of the Riverland Energy Cooperative service territory.

Deadline is March 16, 2016.

Guidelines - pdf


Scholarship funding

Riverland Energy is owned by its members and guided by a nonprofit, cooperative philosophy. When the cooperative makes money beyond expenses, the difference is refunded to elibigle members as capital credits. The scholarships are funded with unclaimed capical credit dollars and do not affect electric rates.

Together We Save